Skip to content

TeamCamp Kickoff this Thursday, Sept 19th

September 16, 2013

Chris Schmitt

I have a little homework for you in preparation for this Thursday’s meeting. But don’t worry: it’s simple and fun! I’d like you to think about 3 problems that you encounter as you go about your day. They can be big or small – it doesn’t matter. You might want to think about keeping an idea journal so you don’t lose track of your thoughts. Don’t put too much into solutioning at this point.

Here’s an example: yesterday while cycling I started thinking there must be a better way to know when cars are approaching from behind. You see, I had a pretty close call the other week. I had been checking my mirror and didn’t see anything behind me. I started to make a left turn and next thing I heard its the sound of a truck blowing its horn and screeching tires. I didn’t get hurt, and the driver was safe, but it scared the hell out of me. So my problem is to find a better way to warn a cyclist that a vehicle is close behind.

It’s that simple. At the meeting we’ll pick one or two of the problems and apply a brainstorming technique called Morphological Matrix (I wrote about it here) to come up with some unique ways of solving that problem.

Looking forward to seeing you on Thursday!

Chris

One Comment

Post a comment
  1. September 16, 2013

    Have a great session… hope the article about idea journals helped!

Leave a Reply

